

## NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Carly Moore, (202) 638-5487 Elizabeth Lietz, (202) 626-2284

> Katherine Keene to Chair AHA's Committee on Governance Bina Eggensperger Named Chair Elect

WASHINGTON (January 14, 2013) – The American Hospital Association (AHA) today announced that Katherine Keene will be chair and Bina Eggensperger, will be chair-elect for the AHA's 2013 Committee on Governance (COG).

The COG is a specialty committee of the AHA Board of Trustees. The committee is responsible for providing input into AHA's policy development, leading effective involvement of the nation's hospital trustees in grassroots advocacy, providing advice on AHA's trustee initiatives, and enhancing communication with and involvement of trustees in the AHA.

Katherine Keene joined the COG in 2009. She is a trustee at Salem Hospital in Salem, Ore., one of the state's largest acute care facilities. Keene began her board service in 1996, serving as board chair of Salem Health. She is a two times past chair of Salem Hospital, past chair and member of the governance committee and a member of the planning committee. Additionally, Keene is a board member of Willamette Valley Insurance Company, a wholly owned subsidiary of Salem Hospital.

Keene is also the past chair of Easter Seals Oregon. Keene was CEO of Oregon's largest workers' compensation insurance companies for 15 years. For eight years she served as a director of UMPQUA Holdings, a banking and financial services company, and was vice chair of the audit committee. Keene recently retired as executive director of Capital Manor, a continuing care retirement community. She earned an undergraduate degree from the University of Rhode Island and a master's degree from the University of Oregon.

Bina Eggensperger, the 2013 chair-elect joined the COG in 2010. She currently serves as a trustee of Clark Fork Valley Hospital in Plains, Mont. Eggensperger chaired the board of this sixteen-bed critical access facility for several terms. An active member of the Healthcare Trustee Association of Montana, she has served as president previously. Eggensperger also serves on the Montana Hospital Association Board.

Eggensperger serves as the Montana representative to the Western Regional Trustee Symposium Planning Committee. In past years, she served on the Montana State 4-H Council for four years and was president for three as well as serving on the Montana 4-H Foundation Board. Along with her husband, Eggensperger publishes a community newspaper in Thompson Falls. She manages several other businesses including a promotional marketing company. Eggensperger is a graduate of Montana State University.

New members elected to serve beginning January 1, 2013, are:

- Sarah Schermerhorn, Trustee, Ellis Hospital, Schenectady, N.Y.
- Anthony Stanowski, Trustee, Bon Secours Baltimore Health System Baltimore, Md.
- William Hartsock, Trustee, Botsford, Hospital, Farmington Hills, Mich.
- Gerry Lewis-Jenkins, Trustee, Platte Valley Medical Center, Brighton, Colo.
- Edison Jensen, Trustee, Dominican Hospital, Santa Cruz, Calif.
- Lindsley Wellman, Trustee, The Hospital of Central Connecticut, New Britain, Conn.
- Joe Wilkins, Trustee, St. Joseph Hospital, Orange, Calif.
- Donald Pizer, Trustee, Abington Memorial Hospital, Abington, Pa.
- Andrew Stern, Trustee, Medical City Dallas Hospital, Dallas

Continuing as AHA Board Liaison is Barbara Wilson, Trustee, St. Luke's Health System, Boise, ID.

## About AHA

The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals that are committed to the improvement of health in their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which includes more than 5,000 member hospitals, health systems and other health care organizations, and 42,000 individual members. Founded in 1898, the AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends.

```
###
```