Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

June 12, 2023

The Honorable Chiquita Brooks-LaSure Administrator, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 200 Independence Avenue SW Washington, DC 20201

Dear Administrator Brooks-LaSure,

We write to you to express our concern regarding the proposed payment updates included in the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services' (CMS) inpatient prospective payment system (IPPS) proposed rule for fiscal year (FY) 2024. We are concerned that the proposed payment update does not accurately reflect the current costs of providing care to patients. We respectfully urge CMS to re-evaluate this proposal and consider using its special exceptions and adjustments authority to revise the IPPS final rule, ensuring that hospitals have the resources they need to deliver high quality care.

In FY 2022, CMS finalized a market basket payment update of 2.7% based on data that did not anticipate or incorporate the record high inflation and significant increases in the costs of labor, drugs, and equipment. For example, inflation, as measured by the consumer price index, hit a high of 9.1% in June 2022. Hospitals' labor expense, which account for about half of a hospital's expenses, have skyrocketed in recent years. Likewise, drug and purchased service expenses have increased. The agency did not account for these unprecedented cost hikes when it set the payment update for FY 2022.

Indeed, with more recent data available, the actual market basket update for 2022 is 5.7%, a 3.0% variance from the CMS estimates. The March 2023 MedPAC report on Medicare Payment Policy agrees that hospitals' input costs "exceeded the forecasts CMS used to set Medicare payment rates." This disparity continues to negatively impact hospitals. The proposed FY 2024 payment update would severely exacerbate this problem and does not properly recognize the high financial pressures that hospitals currently face.

In light of these challenges, we urge CMS to use its special exceptions and adjustments authority to implement a retrospective adjustment in the FY 2024 final rule to account for the difference between the market basket update that was implemented for FY 2022, a projection, and the actual market basket for FY 2022. We believe that this payment update would be more accurate and fairer to hospitals and better position them to provide quality care to patients around the country.

On behalf of the hospitals and health systems in our districts and nationwide, we appreciate your attention to these concerns. We look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Carol D. Miller

Carol D. Miller Member of Congress Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

Christopher H. Smith Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress

Dusty Johnson Member of Congress

Joe Wilson Member of Congress

John Rose

Member of Congress

ohn In Rose

Jasmine Crockett
Member of Congress

Im Sewell

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Michelle Steel Member of Congress

Charles J. "Chuck"

Member of Congress

Fleischmann

Tracey Mann

Member of Congress

Jim Costa

Angie Craig

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Garret Graves

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Randy Feenstra

Member of Congress

Wild

Member of Congress



Michael Guest Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff
Member of Congress

Don Bacon

Member of Congress

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D.

Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress ales X. Mooney

Alex X. Mooney Member of Congress

Jared Moskowitz

Member of Congress

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Jake LaTurner Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Zach Nunn
Member of Congress

Ason Crow Member of Congress Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Vette D. Clarke Member of Congress

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress Muh h. Lings
Nicholas A. Langworthy

Nicholas A. Langworthy Member of Congress

Donald G. Davis Member of Congress

Grace Meng

Member of Congress

Michael V. Lawler Member of Congress

Marcus J. Molinaro Member of Congress Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress

John H. Rutherford Member of Congress

Kathy E. Manning Member of Congress

Sam Graves

Member of Congress

Andrew R. Garbarino Member of Congress

Busin lee

Susie Lee

Member of Congress

Mike Ezell Member of Congress

Tim Walberg

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Bill Johnson

Member of Congress

Mike Garcia

Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens

Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Emilia Strong Sykes Member of Congress

Brail Finaland

Brad Finstad Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Lewold Hadlen Serrold Nadler Member of Congress

Dwight Evans Member of Congress Mossy Houleton Chrissy Houlahan

Member of Congress

Trent Kelly Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Anthony D'Esposito Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kilder

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

Nick LaLota Member of Congress

Diana Harshbarger
Member of Congress

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

Austin Scott Member of Congress Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Matt Cartwright
Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

Chris Deluzio Member of Congress Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress Vicente Gonzalez
Member of Congress

Blaine Luetkemeyer
Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Chell R

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress Juan Vargas

Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Winds J. Janz

Clay Higgins '

Member of Congress

Lucy McBath

Member of Congress

Lucy MCBet